#550


But I have yet to hear any of you mortals, rebels or kings, ask me to carry out this final task: let Chaos reign over the fields of Athena. You lack the courage to see burn everything that gives you comfort and shelter. Even the strongest of you fear mighty Chaos and what he will do should I let him run free. But remember this, young soul: I do only as I am asked. Ask me to build you a city and I shall make it function. Ask me to end the misery of the city, and I will have only one option: to destroy it, utterly.
Euripides, ATHENA POLIAS (Athena of the City), from the Lost Plays

Published in: on August 30, 2012 at 5:33 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://minutesbeforeaftermath.wordpress.com/2012/08/30/550/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

